Monday, May 20, 2013


By Nancy Condit

A decision about whether to hold Concert 2 tonight because of the weather will be made by noon.

Please go to or call (405) 216-5595 after noon. Updates will also be
broadcast on KCSC fm after noon.

Concert 1 of Schubert and Friends Saturday night at St. Paul's Episcopal Cathedral was a nice combination of Schubert's Piano Sonata No. 13 in A Major, op. 120, D.664, played by Amy I-Lin Cheng, and the almost symphonic work Octet in F Major for Strings and Winds, op. 166, D.803, played by Gregory Lee and Katrin Stamatis, violin: Mark Neumann, viola: Jonathan Ruck, cello; George Speed, double bass; Chad Burrow, clarinet; Carl Rath, bassoon; and Kate Pritchett, (French) horn.

Cheng, who is also co-artistic director, introduced the sonata as "delightful" and the octet as "noble and symphonic." She praised the second work for it's simplicity. Shubert wrote over 600 pieces in his lifetime.

Cheng played the Allegro moderato section of the sonata with good nuances. She played with her body reflecting the music, bending over the quietest section of the Andante section as though protecting or to get closer to it. The Allegro section varied between delicate and forceful with Cheng's wonderful playing of Schubert's rapid runs interspersed with powerful chords.

Schubert followed Beethoven in composing his smaller octet to prepare for a grand symphony, which became his Symphony No. 9 (program notes). With two violins, a viola, a cello, a double bass, a clarinet, a bassoon and a (French) horn, the piece had the feel and depth of a symphony.

With the "fine tuning" as president David Johnson called it, of the amplification system, both the sonata and  the octet could be heard well.

Concert II with guest clarinetist David Shifrin

Guest artist David Shifrin
Photo provided

This concert is currently scheduled for 7:30 p.m. Monday night, May 20, at St. Paul's Episcopal Cathedral. Please check, or call 216-5595 after noon for a final decision.

Appearing at this concert will be guest artist David Shifrin of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Chamber Music Northwest and the Yale University School of Music.  The concert will begin with violist Mark Neumann and pianist Amy Cheng performing Schubert’s “Arpeggione” Sonata in A Minor for Viola and Piano, D.821.  Next, Mr. Shifrin and Amy Cheng will perform Carl Maria von Weber’s Grand Duo Concertant in E-Flat Major for Clarinet and Piano, op. 48 – a virtuosic work for both instruments.  After intermission, violinist Gregory Lee, cellist Jonathan Ruck and pianist Amy Cheng will play Schubert’s Piano Trio No. 1 in B-Flat Major, op. 99, D.898, a “blissfully happy work, rich in cheerful melody."
Tickets are $10 and can be purchased at the door.

Concert 3, also with guest artist David Shifrin will be Tuesday, May 21 at 7:30 p.m. at All Souls' Episcopal Church.

Concert 4, the Mae Ruth Swanson Memorial Concert, is scheduled at 7:30 p.m. at All Souls' Episcopal Church.

Complete information can be found at, or by calling  (405) 216-5595 or
(301) 807-4763.

No comments:

Post a Comment